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NOTARIES WITHOUT BOND 



RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES



KEEPING OUT OF TROUBLE



TEXAS GOVERNMENT CODE

Sec. 406.010.  BOND; (a)  Each person to be appointed a 
notary public shall, before entering the official duties of 
office, execute a bond in the amount of $10,000 with a 
solvent surety company authorized to do business in this 
state as a surety.  (b)  The notary bond shall be deposited in 
the office of the secretary of state…

(f)  Subsections (a) and (b) do not apply to a person whose 
services as a notary public are performed primarily as a state 
officer or employee



Texas Government Code

Sec. 653.012.  QUALIFICATION FOR OFFICE OR 
EMPLOYMENT.  Notwithstanding any other law that 
requires a state officer or employee to obtain a surety 
bond, a state officer or employee otherwise qualified to 
hold office, employment, or to serve as a notary public 
shall not be disqualified because a surety bond has not
been obtained for such officer or employee.



Title 1 Part 4 Section 87.20(a) Texas 
Administrative Code
(a) An applicant who is an officer or 
employee of a state agency is not required to 
provide a surety bond. For the purpose of 
this chapter, "state agency" has the meaning 
assigned by §2052.101, Government Code.



Sec. 2052.101.  DEFINITION.  In this subchapter, "state 
agency" means:
(1)  a department, commission, board, office, or other 
agency that is in the executive or legislative branch of 
state government and that was created by the 
constitution or a statute, including an institution of 
higher education; or

(2)  the supreme court, the court of criminal appeals, a 
court of appeals, or the Texas Judicial Council or 
another agency in the judicial branch of state 
government.



930 TEXAS AGENCIES

https://fmx.cpa.texas.gov/fm/contacts/agynum/index.php


RULE 87.20 (SOS RULE)
b) An applicant who is an officer or employee of a state agency and 
does not provide a surety bond must complete the traditional 
notary public application entitled "Application for Appointment as a 
Notary Public Without Bond" (Form 2301-NB).

(c) The State Agency employing the applicant must submit the 
completed application to the State Office of Risk Management
(SORM)

(d) The State Office of Risk Management shall complete the 
verification certificate on the application and forward the 
completed application to the Office of the Secretary of State for 
processing.



SORM’S Verification of Employment

COPY OF AN INTERAGENCY TRANSACTION VOUCHER (ITV) 
VERIFYING THE PRE-PAYMENT FROM THE AGENCY TO THE 
SECRETARY OF STATE WITH THE EMPLOYEE’S NAME IN THE 
USAS TRANSACTION BOX

A STATE AGENCY/UNIVERSITY CHECK FOR $11, PAYABLE TO 
THE SECRETARY OF STATE; OR

A STATE WARRANT FOR $11 PAYABLE TO SOS.



(e) The secretary of state shall commission the applicant if: 
(1) the applicant meets the eligibility requirements stated in 

§87.10 of this title (relating to Eligibility to Hold the Office of 
Notary Public);

(2) the applicant submits:
(A) a properly completed and executed application verified 

by the State Office of Risk Management;
(B) the statement of officer required by article XVI, §1 Texas 

Constitution;
(C) the payment of fees required by §406.007(a)(2) 

and§406.007(b), Government Code; and
(3) no good cause exists for rejecting the application.



REQUIREMENTS FOR SEAL (STAMP)

a) A notary public commissioned as a notary 
public without bond shall obtain a seal which 
complies with the requirements of §406.013, 
Government Code and §87.44 of this title 
(relating to Notary Seal) and which contains 
an additional line reading "Notary without 
Bond".



Administrative Rule 87.22

(b) A state employee is not prohibited from 
purchasing a notary bond at personal 
expense. However, an individual 
commissioned as a notary without bond shall 
only notarize documents pursuant to their 
official state duties.



RULE 87.22(d) (SOS RULE)

NOTARIES WITHOUT BOND WHO EITHER 1) 
NOTARIZE DOCUMENTS OUTSIDE OF THEIR OFFICIAL 
STATE DUTIES OR 2) WHO FAIL TO USE THE "NOTARY 
WITHOUT BOND" SEAL SHALL BE SUBJECT TO 
DISCIPLINARY ACTION BY THEIR RESPECTIVE 
AGENCIES, AND SUCH ACTION MAY CONSTITUTE 
GOOD CAUSE TO SUSPEND OR REVOKE THEIR 
NOTARY COMMISSION BY THE SECRETARY OF STATE.



TITLE 28, PART 4, SECTION 252.509  (SORM’S 
RULE)

NOTARIES WITHOUT BOND WHO NOTARIZE 
DOCUMENTS OUTSIDE OF THEIR STATE DUTIES 
AND WHO FAIL TO USE THE "NOTARY WITHOUT 
BOND" STAMP SHALL BE SUBJECT TO 
DISCIPLINARY ACTION BY THEIR RESPECTIVE 
AGENCIES. 



WHAT IF YOU TRANSFER TO ANOTHER AGENCY ?

IF A NOTARY PUBLIC WHO HAS QUALIFIED WITHOUT 
A SURETY BOND TRANSFERS TO ANOTHER STATE 
AGENCY, THE AGENCY TO WHICH THE NOTARY 
PUBLIC TRANSFERS SHALL NOTIFY THE STATE OFFICE 
OF RISK MANAGEMENT AND THE OFFICE OF THE 
SECRETARY OF STATE OF THE TRANSFER.

TEX.ADMIN.CODE TITLE 1, PART 4, SECTION 87.21



TITLE 28, PART 4, SECTION 252.507  (SORM’S RULE)

UPON TERMINATION OF ANY NOTARY WITHOUT BOND, 
THE TERMINATING AGENCY SHALL IMMEDIATELY 
NOTIFY THE BONDS AND INSURANCE SECTION OF THE 
OFFICE USING SORM-204.



TERMINATION OF STATE EMPLOYMENT
If a notary public terminates state employment, the notary public 

shall:
(1) voluntarily surrender the notary public commission; 
(2) purchase and provide evidence to the secretary of state of the 

purchase of a notary public bond for the time period remaining on the 
notary's current term of office (must obtain a new seal); or

(3) voluntarily surrender the notary public commission and apply for a 
new term of office, provide a notary public bond, and pay the 
applicable fees.
Failure to take one of the actions set forth above within 30 days of 
termination of state employment is good cause for revocation of the 
notary public's commission. 



BEST TO HANG ONTO YOUR LOG BOOK



Retention Period for Notary Log
Administrative Rule 87.54

(A) RECORDS OF A NOTARIZATION OTHER THAN 
AN ONLINE NOTARIZATION SHALL BE RETAINED, 
IN A SAFE AND SECURE MANNER, FOR THE 
LONGER OF THE TERM OF THE COMMISSION IN 
WHICH THE NOTARIZATION OCCURRED OR THREE 
YEARS FOLLOWING THE DATE OF NOTARIZATION.



Already a traditional notary with a bond



NAME CHANGE



NOTARY COMPLAINTS     



Ten things to keep you out of trouble and off our 
complaint docket



Unless you are an online (remote) notary, the 
signing party must be in your presence.



Always, Always, Always provide copies of your log 
book if the requestor has made the request and 
paid you $.50/page. Redact if necessary.



SOS Rule 87.52
ON PAYMENT OF ALL FEES, THE NOTARY PUBLIC SHALL PROMPTLY PROVIDE A 
CERTIFIED COPY OF ANY ENTRIES IN THE NOTARY PUBLIC'S RECORDS TO ANY 
PERSON REQUESTING THE COPY. THE NOTARY SHALL PROVIDE THE CERTIFIED COPY 
NO LATER THAN 10 BUSINESS DAYS FROM THE DATE OF RECEIPT OF THE FEES, 
UNLESS THE NOTARY CANNOT PRODUCE THE CERTIFIED COPY WITHIN 10 BUSINESS 
DAYS FROM THE DATE OF RECEIPT OF THE FEES, IN WHICH CASE THE NOTARY 
SHALL CERTIFY THAT FACT IN WRITING TO THE PERSON REQUESTING THE COPY ON 
OR BEFORE THE 10TH BUSINESS DAY FROM THE DATE OF RECEIPT OF THE FEES,
AND SET A DATE AND HOUR WITHIN A REASONABLE TIME WHEN THE CERTIFIED 
COPY WILL BE PROVIDED, AND SHALL PROVIDE THE INFORMATION BY THAT DATE 
AND HOUR.



SOS Rule 87.52

IF THE NOTARY HAS INADVERTENTLY INCLUDED 
PERSONAL IDENTIFIABLE INFORMATION IN THE 
RECORD CONTRARY TO SECTION 87.50 OF THIS 
TITLE (RELATING TO THE PROHIBITION AGAINST 
RECORDING PERSONAL INFORMATION), THE 
NOTARY MUST REDACT THAT PERSONAL 
INFORMATION PRIOR TO RELEASE OF THE 
INFORMATION.

.



Do not include personally 
identifiable information in your 
log book, such as SSN’s and 
DOB’s.



Always write down in your log book the 
information required by Gov. Code 406.014.



Gov. Code 406.014
(1)  THE DATE OF EACH INSTRUMENT NOTARIZED;
(2)  THE DATE OF THE NOTARIZATION;
(3)  THE NAME OF THE SIGNER, GRANTOR, OR MAKER;
(4)  THE SIGNER'S, GRANTOR'S, OR MAKER'S MAILING ADDRESS;
(5)  WHETHER THE SIGNER, GRANTOR, OR MAKER IS PERSONALLY 
KNOWN BY THE NOTARY PUBLIC, WAS IDENTIFIED BY AN 
IDENTIFICATION CARD ISSUED BY A GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY OR A 
PASSPORT ISSUED BY THE UNITED STATES, OR WAS INTRODUCED TO 
THE NOTARY PUBLIC AND, IF INTRODUCED, THE NAME AND MAILING 
ADDRESS OF THE INDIVIDUAL INTRODUCING THE SIGNER, GRANTOR, 
OR MAKER;



Gov. Code 406.014  (CON’T)

(6) IF THE INSTRUMENT IS PROVED BY A WITNESS, THE MAILING ADDRESS 
OF THE WITNESS, WHETHER THE WITNESS IS PERSONALLY KNOWN BY 
THE NOTARY PUBLIC OR WAS INTRODUCED TO THE NOTARY PUBLIC AND, 
IF INTRODUCED, THE NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF THE INDIVIDUAL 
INTRODUCING THE WITNESS;

(7) THE NAME AND MAILING ADDRESS OF THE GRANTEE; 

(8) IF LAND IS CONVEYED OR CHARGED BY THE INSTRUMENT, THE NAME OF 
THE ORIGINAL GRANTEE AND THE COUNTY WHERE THE LAND IS 
LOCATED; 

(9)  A BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE INSTRUMENT.



Do not practice law and do not claim to be a 
notario publico – unless you are one.



Do charge the correct fee for your services.



Example

1.  SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME THIS 1ST DAY OF 
JULY, 2018, BY JOHN MORALES AND MARIA MORALES. ( 1 
JURAT WITH 2 SIGNATURES = $7)

2.  SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME THIS 1ST DAY OF 
JULY, 2018, BY JOHN MORALES.

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED BEFORE ME THE 1ST DAY OF 
JULY, 2018, BY MARIA MORALES. ( 2 JURATS WITH 2 
SIGNATURES = $12)



If you have been convicted of a felony or a 
misdemeanor of moral turpitude (theft, etc) you 
are not eligible to be a notary unless the 
conviction has been expunged.



Do put the signing party under 
oath.



Be sure to properly identify signing parties 
and witnesses



You are required to keep your 
mailing address current in the 
records of the SOS.



NOTARY BEST PRACTICES



Do Have the Signing Party Sign Your Log 
Although it is not required by Texas law.



Do not notarize a document in which you 
have a financial or beneficial interest



Always Maintain Your Notary Commission.  If you 
have misplaced it, ask SOS for another one.

The picture can't be displayed.

The picture can't be displayed.



When Requesting an Apostille from SOS, Send us 
the Original Document.  We cannot yet provide an 
Apostille for an Electronically signed document.



Do not certify copies of documents that are in 
the public records such as birth certificates



ONLINE (REMOTE) 
NOTARIZATION



In 2017 the Legislature passed 
HB 1217 which can found online 

at Capitol.texas.gov



HB 1217 Became Effective on July 1, 2018.  
Notary Rules Became Effective August 19, 2018.



A Texas Online Notary can Notarize a Document 
Being Signed Anywhere in the World with Internet 
Access.



IS IT WORTH IT TO BE AN ONLINE NOTARY?
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